small town girls go west

by elizestrydom

ImageImageImageImage

Tomorrow I’m going on a big adventure with my Australian Small Town Girls. Okay, so I won’t be with the girls in human form…but they will be sitting beside me in frames. Yes, the Small Town Girl photo exhibition is heading to Broken Hill in the far west of outback New South Wales. Dan and I will pack the car and drive for over 12 hours past towns like Dubbo, Cobar and Wilcannia as we wind our way through landscapes we’ve never laid eyes on. I have a feeling I’ll be pointing my camera lens out the window constantly and ordering Dan to pull over every few kilometers so I can snap a photo of a tree or a road sign or a dead kangaroo (thanks in advance!) I can’t wait to experience more of the country I live in but hardly know. Once in Broken Hill, I’ll hang the work at the Regional Gallery, ready for opening night on Saturday November 30th. Sadly, I won’t be able to attend the opening celebrations but I’ll record a little video message for those who do go along. Seeing images from this project hanging on the walls of a gallery will be pretty special, I reckon. At this point, I can’t think of anything I’d rather do with my life than travel around Australia/the world, shoot fulfilling projects, exhibit the work and publish a few books.

As well as taking a bunch of ‘real’ photos, I plan to do a bit of Instagram-ing along the way, too. Follow along here.

