communion

by elizestrydom

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

My dear friends Maddy and Jake invited me to a Thanksgiving dinner last Thursday. I grew up watching families celebrate ‘the Holidays’ in countless American films, so I was excited to get into the spirit, too. We had all of the traditional dishes and trimmings (Jake is a mean master chef in the making and Maddy’s pumpkin pie was a slice of heaven) and even went around the table saying what we were thankful for. Sounds a little corny, I know. I remember saying something about appreciating community and then we moved on to the main course.

It wasn’t until last night when I was looking at these images that my own words sunk in. I AM thankful for community. It’s something that has been missing from my life for the last two and a half years. Actually, forget that. It would be more accurate to say that I have been missing from the community. But looking back on the last few months, I’ve noticed that things have changed and a collection of kind, generous people who love and value me now feature heavily in my day to day. And for this I truly am thankful.

