middle of the month mix – march

by elizestrydom

Image

Well, well, well end of February/start of March, haven’t you been a cheeky little month for music? I’ve been really excited about a few tunes in particular. Namely, Royals by 16 year old Kiwi kid, Lorde. I was on my way to a party when I heard it on Good Nights with Linda and literally had to pull over, turn the car around and drive home so I could download it (no, I don’t own a smartphone…yeah, I know). The whole night I was itching to get back to my bedroom so I could listen to it again…and again. Step Out For a While by Patrick Watson was another fortuitous find. If Matt Corby and Grizzly Bear got together and had a baby, this is what it would sound like. And as I mentioned recently, Liarbird by The Growl is a gravelly, soulful banger of a tune that I fell for instantly. Enjoy the mix here here here!

1. liarbird – the growl

2. royals – lorde

3. falling – haim

4. t.r.o.u.b.l.e – abbe may

5. mind mischief – tame impala

6. when yesterday’s gone – hungry kids of hungary

7. needle – born ruffians

8. global concepts – robert delong (language warning! language warning!)

9. step out for a while – patrick watson

10. heavy feet – local natives

