it all feels right

by elizestrydom

ImageImageImage

Because sometimes you just need to book a last minute flight and go up to Byron to see your besties and their littles. It was such a quick visit – only one night – but if you wait for the ‘right’ time to go you’ll be waiting far too long. The children are growing, we’re getting older, life is moving on…I just miss my girls, Taryn and Ali. And so we went, Dan and I. We arrived at Ali and Nate’s place during quite a tumultuous time. They’re in the process of turning an ‘on the side’ venture into a full time gig, renovating a house in Lismore, setting up a home in Byron Bay, raising three kids under five, dealing with extended family issues – all that fun stuff. But Ali has never been one to sugar coat things or sweep the mess under the rug and I am thankful for that. I would much rather know the real Ali and stand beside her as she navigates the ups and downs of real life. It’s way easier to have a surface level friendship and only share in someone’s Instagram-able moments but you miss out on such rich and satisfying connection if you leave it at that.

ImageImageImageImageImage

Time slowed down and the two days stretched right out. We played with Eden, Tully and Mosko, watched them swim with their uncle Hamish and ate lunch on the deck where Dan dozed off in the sunshine. In the evening we all took a dip round at Wategos then had a picnic dinner on the shore of Main Beach. The next day it was more of the same plus a catch up with Taryn and baby Vienna at The Top Shop. As we chatted I was filled with a feeling of just right-ness. I relished the ease and comfort of being in the presence of someone who knows and understands me so well. I love and appreciate my Sydney friends but those relationship are still in the early stages, a few years old, and there’s something quite different about the way you relate to someone you met when you were 16.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

