you will take the east side and i will take the west

by elizestrydom

b1b2b3b4b5

A month or so ago I hopped on a train and travelled south to a tiny beach town called Gerroa. To be precise, I got off the train at Gerringong and after refusing a lift from a guy driving by, walked into town, had a coffee, then headed four or so kays down the coast to Gerroa, the road and ocean on my left, rolling green hills on my right. I swatted flies and sang songs I knew all the words to. I stayed in a cabin at the caravan park and thought about what would happen if I never left. The city had been grating on me and I needed: some quiet, a horizon, birdsong. I did not need: construction noise, mobile phone reception, conversation. I wanted to devote a little time to figuring out who I am when I’m alone. I’m a different person depending on who I’m with (v. exhausting) but who am I when nobody else is around? (Still workin’ on that one.) The night I got back to Sydney I had dinner at my friend Matt’s place which is right in the middle of the city. I was reluctant to leave the silent and spacious bubble I’d been in for the previous two days but once I quit resisting, I realised that an evening of meaningful conversation and nourishing food was certainly welcome.

000018340027000018340029000018340032000018340035

^^ An accidental double exposure…not sure how that happened? Still getting the hang of my Leica.  All photos developed/scanned at Richard Photo Lab.

