olive and oak

elize strydom's photo journal

red, white and blue

ImagePeople keep asking me what Australians think of (north) Americans. ‘How would you describe us?’ ‘Patriotic,’ I reply. ‘You seem so sure of where you’ve come from and who you are as a nation.’ I think Australians are uncomfortable with patriotism; I know I am. Isn’t it a bit arrogant? Should I be proud of my country’s history? What makes up our national identity anyway? When I see the Aussie flag I can’t help but think of bogans with Southern Cross tattoos and ‘we grew here, you flew here’ stickers on the back of their cars. Pretty sad, huh? That said, being away from home and immersing myself in another culture has given me much more clarity on the issue. And my little identity crisis certainly didn’t stop me celebrating the Fourth of July with Small Town Girl subject Jenn in Ohio.

35mm film developed and scanned by Richard Photo Lab in Hollywood. Thanks!

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

huge hearted humans

ImageIn between stays with OregonĀ Small Town Girls Taylorann and Maddie, sweet Emily and her family took me in. It was a last minute arrangement and the Turners had hosted Emily’s high school graduation party the night before so I was expecting a low key evening. I most certainly wasn’t expecting an extensive tour of their spectacular surrounds, a campfire, s’mores (my first taste!) and a backyard movie under the stars. In a matter of hours I felt a genuine connection with the Turners and was touched by their honest interest in me and what I’m on about. I know I wrote about it a few posts ago but my goodness, the kindness of strangers just continues to hit me for six. Thank you so very much, dear Turners.

ImageImageImage